Monday, 5 May 2014

Davido Wins The VGMA African Artiste of the Year [FULL WINNERS LIST]

For weeks, there have been controversies that had trailed the last concluded Vodafone Ghana Music Awards , a lot of people expected that the award last night could have led to a big fight but there was nothing like that, all the way from Nigeria, Davido came to the city of Accra and clinched the African Artiste of the Year award.

The event went down on the May 3rd with major performances from Sarkodie, Iyanya, MzVee, Sonnie Badu, Okomfor Kwadee, Castro, Guru, Bisa K. Dei, Dasebre Dwamena, Samini, Kwabena Kwabena and Davido, there were surprises during the awards.

Sarkodie went home with four awards while Shatta Wale won the “Artiste of the Year”. For Davido, his Skelewu hit song must have done him more good since it came out last year and he is not resting ever since he released three videos of the track.

Last week, Davido had a reason to smile when he was endorsed by telecom giant MTN as one of its ambassadors alongside Timaya, Dr.Sid and others. He has equally launched his track, ”Tchelete” with South African music duo Mafikizolo during this unveiling.

Artiste of the Year – Shatta Wale
Vodafone Song of the Year - Shatta Wale (DanceHall King)
Highlife Song of the Year – Kwabena Kwabena (Adult Music ft. Samini)
Hiplife/HipHop Artiste of the Year – Sarkodie
Best Group of the Year – R2Bees
Gospel Song of the Year – O.J (Ma Y3 S3 Mo P3n)
Afro Pop Song of the Year – Fuse ODG (Million Pound Girl)
Highlife Artiste of the Year – Kwabena Kwabena
New Artiste of the Year – Joey B
Hiplife Song of the Year – GURU (Boyz Abr3)
Best Collaboration of the Year – Kwabena Kwabena (Adult Music ft. Samini)
Gospel Artiste of the Year – Sonnie Badu
Best Rapper of the Year – Sarkodie (Rap Attack)
Reggae/DanceHall Song of the Year – Shatta Wale (DanceHall King)
Hip-Hop Song of the Year – Sarkodie (Lies)
AFRICAN Artiste of the Year – Davido
Best Male Vocal Performance – Sonnie Badu
Best Female Vocal Performance – EFYA
Gospel Album of the Year – Joyce Blessing (Heavy Price)
Album of the Year – Sarkodie (Sarkology)
Songwriter of the Year – Bisa Kdei
Record of the Year – Trigmatic (Wo Si Ka Nti)
Producer of the Year – KillBeatz

Other Categories
Best Music Video – Knii Lante (Baby Take Good Care)
Instrumentalist – Victor Dey
Life-time Achievement – Ebo Taylor
Music For Development – Kwabena Kwabena (Save A Heart Campaign)
Traditional Artist – Densi
Sound Engineer – Kaywa
MUSIGA Merit Award – Korkor Amarteifio

No comments:

Post a Comment


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...


post your comment